Skip to content
March 11, 2012 / becca shayne

Cinemagraphs — Frozen Moments

These are totally awesome. They are essentially gifs, but they don’t feel as kitchy, if you know what I mean. They are designed as art moments, not as stupid funny shit that no one cares about. They are like stopped moments in time, but they are still moving. It’s nice because, since it is a loop, you’re allowed to decide how long to watch it, rather than being trapped in a timestamped video. You can realize, oh, I’ve seen the whole loop, and then decide you’ll watch it a few more times, or that you’ve already had your fill. I found them here and here if you’d like to see more examples, or read more about it. Many of them are being used as Fashion Photography in high end digital magazines or couture websites etc. A girl in my class is calling her degree project “Frozen Motion,” a nicely paradoxical title. I look forward to seeing what she will do with the loop phenomenon for her degree project! In the mean time, time to go work on mine…

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. adpraisal / Mar 11 2012 9:15 AM

    These are great! Have no idea how they are achieved but I guess that mystery is part of their appeal. The swing one is my favourite, even if there is something slightly spooky about it!

Leave a comment